Book 42 Troublemaker: [Tori]

I am constantly told I look like a lesbian. This wouldn’t be so bad if it weren’t based purely on my haircut & boots. I’m told my piercings make me unemployable, dangerous & suspicious. I’m followed around stores, because of them it is assumed I’m a thief. When my tattoos are on show I am asked why I got them, won’t I hate them when I’m older, what’s the point of tattoos, the meaning behind them are stupid. T-shirts with feminist or vaguely politicised slogans lead people to believe I’m angry & abrasive. Even my eye make-up can lead to questions about my ‘anger issues’ and political message.

About Katy Duke

Human Books organiser & project manager
This entry was posted in A Book. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

