Feedback

Books & readers had a very rewarding time and feedback is coming through;

“I just wanted to drop you a line to say a huge THANK YOU for our human library experience. Both Will and I really enjoyed it, and felt that it was an immensely worthwhile event for both books and readers.” Steph (Stay-at-home mum) & Will (Psychiatrist).

“This was a really special way to learn something new. Many thanks.” Sam (Reader)

About Katy Duke

Human Books organiser & project manager
This entry was posted in Human Library. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feedback

  1. jen says:

    I had the most amazing experience as a living book. It was so liberating, enlightening and empowering to talk about addiction, and in doing so, I realised just how massive a problem it is in our culture. Some of my ‘readers’ were directly suffering from addiction, and some indirectly (friends, loved ones or family of addicts), and some who were just curious. Questions from my ‘readers’ led to discussions about the psychology and nature of addiction, and together we explored ways of facing, dealing with, and healing this huge problem in our society.
    Thankyou. An unforgettable experience and momentous step forward for me.

  2. Katy says:

    Jen,
    Thank you so much, it was very rewarding for me too & so far the feedback has been incredibly positive, with the average reply to;
    How did you feel the event worked overall on a scale of 1 (awful) to 10 (brilliant)? being 9, awesome, thanks everyone for your responses!

    A few comments from the questionnaire;

    Did you get any useful feedback from your readers?

    … some people enjoyed the active interaction of asking specific questions, and it becoming a conversation around myths and false beliefs
    Positive, interesting interaction
    Everyone just seemed really positive about the whole experience and every reader commented on what a great idea The Human Library is.
    I think I and everyone I spoke to took something away from the experience.
    Most people seemed to want to talk to someone about their own feelings of unfairnness
    They all seemed enthusiastic about the concept.
    they seemed to enjoy and get into it.

    What did you find most enjoyable or useful?

    I enjoyed the interaction and simple and obvious questions – we get so caught up in what we do that we can become immune to asking straight forward curious questions. It reignited my passion for my work, and being with people.
    It was also really useful to understand where the gaps in your own knowledge/argument were by having them challenged from so many different perspectives, and to feel at the end of the day that you’ve enlightened some people and been enlightened yourself.
    mostly I loved that peoples’ questions made me challenge my own ideas as well.
    Learning a bit about who the readers where, their background, and why they were interested in reading my book.

    Suggestions
    The set up, location and organisation wad delectable. I felt honoured to be part of it – thank you Katy! You are a star librarian!!
    it was a wonderful experience and I made some great new friends. I’d definately do it again… Thanks Katy – what you did was amazing!
    the yurts were beautifully decorated and the area in the trees was good.

Leave a Reply

